Vienna Masters Wardrobe

Few days of holidays and I am still exhausted. Coming down from the stress of the collection finalising stages I have been trying to go back to social life which is proving just as tiring.

After a couple of days in the country –  coffee at Healesville Hotel, lunch at Giant Steps/Innocent Bystander, cross-country skiing at Lake Mountain, spas, drinks, great company – I am back in the city.

After a lovely dinner at Cavalleros, Smith St, last night with the Sunday night crew, I decided to take today just to myself.

I had a lazy morning getting coffee and an almond croissant at Auction Rooms, North Melbourne, before my umbrella and I took a tram into the city.

My destination was the NGV to finally see the Vienna Masters exhibition. I have been wanting to see it since forever (I once even got overenthusiastic and turned up in early June before it had even started and tried to buy a ticket) I have loved Klimt and Schiele for years, but interestingly enough it was not them that really caught my attention.

Otto Wagner’s table and ceiling lamp that he had designed for the Die Zeit (The Times) building were simply beautiful. Josef Hoffmann’s metal work was stunningly simple and Koloman Moser’s self portrait held my attention for the longest time.

His eyes! This self portrait was done around the time he was diagnosed with terminal cancer and I find there is something scarily open about the painting.

My new favourite artists though are Oska Kokoschka and Moriz Jung.

I am loving flattened images, poster styles and simplification.

Oska Kokoschka (what a great name!) Does very bold prints, seen below. He also does some wonderful paintings.

Moriz Jung also humours me with his depiction of humanity. His “The Child Prodigy”  in particular makes me laugh.

How can you not laugh?

These artists were all a part of the Weiner Werkstatte (Vienna Workshop) which Koloman Moser co-founded.

There is a book on postcards that I was flicking through in the NGV shop and I was so absorbed by the strong lines and colours.

In the gallery I felt a strong sense of wanting simplification. Beautiful clean lines. Sharp edges. I could almost picture myself in a house. With Wagner’s table and lamp. Wearing basic colours, tailored skirts. Having some simplified strong print on the wall.

I feel like I want to go home and give everything in my closet away and just have a few beautiful and specific items.

I have been reading many articles that say that simplifying your wardrobe is the more fashion forward and “in” thing to be doing…

I am going to think about this and will get back to you later…

Portrait of Peter Altenberg by Gustav Jagerspacher done in 1909. Peter was a writer and poet  in Vienna that once said “There are only two things that can destroy a healthy man: love trouble, ambition, and financial catastrophe. And that’s already three things, and there are many more.” Peter died single and was constantly poor.

Leave a Reply

