Boring Fashion

Firstly, we will start with the most exciting news. I was told that my samples should be done by the 15th of August but…

Are you ready?

They’ll be done by the end of the week!

New Model Beauty Queen Manufacturers have been working extra hard  and will be giving me back my samples a full 2 weeks earlier than expected!

Am I stoked or what?!

This does mean that I should start organising photography, etc  soon…

Anyway! Back to what I was going to write about.

Peak Fashion.

(still excited about my samples coming back early though…)

So this morning I thought I was going to continue my thoughts on a simplified wardrobe, but I think I’ll add a little precursor first.

I am a classical music fan and a subscriber to the wonderful Australian Chamber Orchestra. A few weeks ago I arrived for one of their concerts in the city and I was starving. They ring a bell at these concerts and won’t let you in for the first half if you’re late, but I was five minutes early and so I sprinted across the road to buy a spring roll from a dodgy Swanston Street store. Stressed about the time I had my $20 note ready and waiting when a reasonably well dressed guy stopped and asked me, “Do you have $10?”

I was holding a $20 note mid air so the answer was pretty obvious. I nodded.

The guy was wearing a dark shirt and pants and a jacket, was quite well groomed and there was something about the situation that didn’t allow me to understand what was going on.

“Can you give me $10?” he asked to which I simply looked a little confused.

Just as he said, “I need $10 for dinner” the owner of the place stepped between us and asked me whether this man was bothering me and the man disappeared.

After a few moments it all kind of clicked.

It hadn’t occurred to me that this man was poor or homeless or needed money for food. I would have bought another few spring rolls if it had.

His dress indicated to me that he was at least as well off as I.

Thinking about this further, I know some people that dress as if they’re homeless and, instead, they’re supported by really well off parents. To the untrained eye the general look of Smith St and Brunswick St pedestrians is vaguely homeless. (I write this in a huge op-shop cardi, a long skirt, ripped stockings and explorer socks stuffed into ballet flats…)

Dress no longer indicates class.

This man could have been wandering down the street with tie, suit and a rip off Louis Vuitton bag that he had picked up from an op-shop and I mightn’t know the difference between him and a regular city accountant.

We used to spend a huge percentage of our income on clothing and this showed our status in society. We now spend a tiny proportion of our income on clothing and buy things that everyone can have.

You can buy the latest Country Road top for $89.95 or wait a few months and buy it for $3.99 at Savers. There are many people on the lookout for the first Zara appearance in op-shops.

You could buy a Tiffany necklace or jump online and buy a rip off for $10.

When you can have everything, what do you want?

Is this part of my desire for a simplified wardrobe? For a personal style that doesn’t involve ‘fast fashion’?

When we all look the same does anyone look stylish?

Is fashionable becoming the new boring?

I really wanted to put in ‘The Japanese Gown” which Philip Wilson Steer did in 1896, but it appears that Google cannot find it… Might be a first for Google? These are, instead, beautiful paintings by Childe Hassam, of which I love the colours.

2 thoughts on “Boring Fashion

Leave a Reply

