Honesty

I finally packed up my studio space.

I had originally been working out of home, with my 100% windpower electricity, with my organic materials, with my good intentions.

Later I moved into a generously donated studio space. I needed the space, it was free in terms of rent. But I no longer had my offset electricity and with no natural light filtering into the space, I used lights all the time.

I also still haven’t worked out how to offset my transport of materials.

Whilst packing up the studio space I packed up boxes of material for op shops. I put all my prized materials at my parent’s house. And I still have thrown out 3 garbage bags full of scraps.

I had better intentions. I had intentions of working out the best things to do with the numerous scraps – of sorting them and composting those I could and working out how to recycle the polyester blends.

With 48 hours until I get on an aeroplane my good intentions crumpled.

I made the I-have-no-time-left decision of sticking it all in a few bags and throwing it out.

Why would I tell you this?

Is it important? Doesn’t everyone, even those with the best intentions, do this at some point?

Last week I spent a long conversation talking about the awful reality of GREEN WASHING.

The “Made In Melbourne”

The “Made Within a 10 Mile Radius”

The “Made Ethically”

The “Organic”

The “Natural Fibres”

What do these mean to the one buying the product?

Does made “Ethically” and “In Melbourne”   apply to the farming/production of fibres?

Does “organic” necessarily mean that slave children haven’t made it.

“Made Within a 10 Mile Radius” in Australia will mean the manufacturing and design. The fabrics and haberdashery are all from overseas.

No wonder people lose faith in “green” alternatives.

Where did simple open honesty go?

Is it not acceptable for people to know that, although you are not perfect yet, you are trying?

Is marketing so based on the “impossible image” that we can no longer speak the truth?

And how do you convey that to your consumer?

Will we, as consumers, buy something presented honestly? Or will we always be manipulated by half truths?

Will we always believe that we could buy a product and look like this? (If we also had Elle’s genetics/diet/fitness regime/lifestyle/etc)

Do we really believe that we cannot process the entire truth of a product? Are unable to make informed decisions? Or are we convinced that consumers simply don’t care.

What has happened to appreciating true knowledge?

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner’s Two Nudes on a Blue Sofa. (I went to the NGV’s The Mad Square Exhibition on Monday. More about early 1900s German art soon…)

 

Leave a Reply

