Bordeaux again

bordeaux en bloc

The last time I was in Bordeaux was  late 2011.

My ma had been there a month doing a French language course and dad and I went to meet her at the end of her stay.

IMG_8301

We stayed very centrally and spent most of our time wandering around town eating icecream and drinking coffee.

What struck me about Bordeaux was the colours.

I fell in love with the sandstone and the blue of the buildings.

As I’ve returned to Bordeaux for the week, so has my intrigue in the colours.

I designed a collection last time I was here, all based on the grey blue and the sand colours.

IMG_8309

There were cropped skinny trousers in heavy textured, almost upholstery material, long blue grey silk blouses, long heavy knit cardigans with big pockets.

I left Bordeaux and got inspired by other cities and other sights and forgot about the Bordeaux collection, but when I look back at it I still want to create it, it hasn’t gone out of style or “fashion”.

I suppose that it the joy of not creating garments for current trends.

That the ideas can simply wait.

IMG_8297
IMG_8303
IMG_8307

I will try and find my old photos from my last trip, which are on my hard drive at home, and update these later. They showed my colour ideas better as I had more time wandering. 

Leave a Reply

