Morning Glory

PietrosantaI read an article a few days ago which I would like to reference but, given the cavernous expanse of the internet, cannot find again.

It was about how to be more productive with your day.

I have several projects that I’m working on at the moment and it’s messy and I am having a hard time prioritising and focusing.

There have been a few days this week where I spend until midday floating around my bedroom because I’m unable to decide what to do with my day. I just have so much that I want to get done that it is sometimes paralysing.

This article mentioned making sure you dedicate the waking hours to yourself.

I know that the first thing I do in the morning is check my phone, email and facebook.

My alarm is on my phone. I turn it off and am immediately on the internet.

Psychologically, this allows your emails and other people to dictate what you feel when you wake up.

You haven’t got the reply you expected, an email still hasn’t come through, you hear news that someone’s broken up with x, that someone’s having a much better time than you on holiday.

The idea is not to necessarily do yoga or meditate, even though these things would be amazing.

The idea is to simply give your brain a good half an hour to have a quiet cup of tea and breakfast before even thinking of checking your emails.

I have spent the last two days testing this out.

I write my to do list before I go to bed. Make sure it is only the important things and then have my quiet morning time.

I will see how long I can keep this up as it takes a surprising amount of self discipline, but the last two days have been wonderful.

I have much more awareness of what I need to do and more discipline throughout the day.

If any other scatterbrained person wishes to try this I would highly recommend and would love to hear the results.

IMG_8929

These photos are from a recent trip to Italy where we were sourcing marble for a property development. So much hideous public art by English artists in such a beautiful Italian town.   

One thought on “Morning Glory

Leave a Reply

