Embroidery

So I’ve been drawing.

This is my first foray into pen drawings and into animal & plants.

I’ve always done people and usually in paint. Could draw a person, but not the chair they were sitting on.

So I’ve been pleasantly surprised at the last month’s work. Funnily enough, I tried to draw a portrait of someone the other day and it was terrible!  

So maybe I’m switching rather than gaining talents…

IMG_2762

Andrew Peacock who now resides at our farm

IMG_2760

bodice embroidery inspired by the farm’s hedge rose

IMG_2761

probably a dud

IMG_2584

starting a collar

IMG_2758

finishing a collar

IMG_2759

my pea collar

IMG_2754

latest collar with dragonfly

And finally something completely unrelated – a drawing of a boy I was thinking about the other day.

We were following my sister’s orchestra on tour through Russia and were crossing the border to Estonia.

The border crossing took a while due to the inspection of the buses and making sure there were no fugitives in the double bass  cases.

As we were standing out in the cold a boy of about 8 came up to me holding out his hands. It was cold and dark and I was eating peanuts.

He said something that I didn’t understand and I handed him my peanuts and tried to smile.

He looked disgusted at what I’d just handed him and walked off.

I was a bit confused, but the Russian lady who was leading our tour enlightened me to the fact that he was asking for cigarettes.

IMG_2565

Little Russian beggar boy

So that’s my story for the day.

Back to drawing.

One thought on “Embroidery

  1. Is Andrew Peacock watching out for John Hen-ard? That was mean of you not to give the boy some cigarettes. We had a guy at work who said as a joke, ‘you bring the chips and dips for the meeting, I’ll bring the alcohol and cigarettes!’

    They are gorgeous drawings..

Leave a Reply

