BRUTAL

So last week I did a bit of work for artist Brad Downey.

At the time I had no idea what I was doing, who for, or under what context.

Tonight, I went to the exhibition. 

I’m not sure what I expected from going to an exhibition on The Strand, but it wasn’t this.

Initially in a spotlit room with double jointed contortionists wearing gas masks and whacking metal tubes against poles and carrying baseball bats, the whole thing was quite terrifying.

In a huge, cavernous warehouse in the centre of London there were video installations, graffiti, paintings, photos…

BRUTAL LONDON

The work was intense and the rooms being so dark made it seem like something from a horror film.

I found the section with the pieces I’d helped with and there was a sudden calm.

IMG_0251

The raw brutality of the other pieces was halted by a display of kitschy outdoor furniture with a series of photographs and a woman serving miso soup.

Being me, constantly hungry, and terrified of horror, this was such a welcome sight.

We settled down into the deckchairs that I’d sewn and I quietly sussed out the two umbrellas that other seamstresses had constructed.

IMG_0241

IMG_0252

IMG_0253

The photos were of construction sites and I had put together two deck chairs, two directors chairs and a large umbrella constructed from the banners covering those buildings. They were ripped and tagged with graffiti, but for a day’s work…

IMG_0250

Go see my chairs.

BRUTAL

Lazarides and The Vinyl Factory Present: BRUTAL

One thought on “BRUTAL

  1. Unfortunately, brutal conduct seems to be making a comeback, Kat. Reading David Hamer’s book on ‘Responsible Government’. What a delight! In the current atmosphere, however, almost quaint. Responsible govts, today, would probably be under drone surveillance. Nice pictures : ) !

Leave a Reply

