The Unexpected

IMG_0314

So I have been on the road for a month.

Most of my trip has not gone as expected, but then again, I had very few expectations.

IMG_0494

Some things I expected.

I expected a few car troubles.

I did not expect to have to be pushed off the road by a whole troop of policeman after running the battery flat in front of the Queen’s Torch for the Commonwealth Games.

I expected to talk to a few strange people.

I did not expect to be stalked, I did not expect to be asked to be invited to Spain to be  a seventy year old’s mistress.

IMG_0382

 

I did not expect the scenery to be so amazing.

I did not expect to realise that I may actually have a soulmate.

I did not expect to be rescued by amazing people.

I did not expect to be so utterly fantastic at finding public toilets.

I did not expect that it would be so tiring.

I did not expect the complete lack of internet in large parts of the UK.

I did not expect it to be difficult and sometimes terrifying to approach people with simple questions.

I did not expect to find people, now and historically, who really think similarly to me.

I did not expect it to be so difficult to find a power point to plug a computer into.

I did not expect to be someone who would make Vodafone reconsider allowing people unlimited phone calls.

I did not expect to be so accepting of my imminent return to Australia.

IMG_0522

IMG_0549

IMG_0511

IMG_0416

Next time I won’t pack as much stuff.

(I have used maybe 10% of what is in the van)

Next time I might either take a group of people or take a less conspicuous van.

(I was told of the positives of simply taking a Ford Transit that you can crawl into the back of without anyone blinking at it twice, but Hans was too amazing to turn down)

Next time I will take much, much more time.

IMG_0381

IMG_0317

IMG_0436

But, as much as this has been a trip of more adventures and less work than expected, it is putting me in the right stead to do it better next time.

And there will be a next time.

IMG_0308

Leave a Reply

