Four years in the making…

Well, actually it might even be more like five or six…

Years ago my mother gave some chairs to an upholsterer, the wonderful Paul McGlade in Mount Waverley.

I wandered into the shop with her and became fixated on the fabrics. I mentioned that I would love to learn upholstery and Paul, the kindest man with obviously no idea what he was getting himself in for, said that I could fix up mum’s chairs and learn.

I stripped back the chairs, redid all the springs and padding, up until the point where I was trying to get mum to decide on a fabric…

…and I moved overseas.

So I returned, called Paul to find that the poor darling had been storing them for years in his shop… and yesterday I finally finished the first two.

IMG_0961

IMG_0964

IMG_0957

IMG_0959

  IMG_0962

…and here they are.

I haven’t asked ma whether or not they were worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

